2015-05-06 / News


St. Francis nursing program receives major recognition

Bon Secours St. Francis Medical Center has received the Magnet designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center Magnet Recognition Program. About 7 percent of hospitals in the U.S. have received this designation. St. Francis previously received the organization’s Pathway to Excellence designation, making it one only three hospitals in the world to have received both designations. The Magnet designation recognizes hospitals that demonstrate strong leadership among nursing staff, excellent interprofessional relationships among members of its health care team and high levels of employee satisfaction, engagement and professional development.


Juliana Hybner of Chester, Hunter Morris of Midlothian and David Seaton of Chesterfield, engineering students at John Tyler Community College, recently were named as recipients of NASA Scholar Awards from the Virginia Space Grant Consortium. Hybner received a STEM Takes Flight in the Community College Scholarship for $5,000. Morris received a Community College STEM Scholarship for $2,000 for the 2015-16 academic year. Seaton was selected to attend a three-day workshop at Stennis Space Center in Mississippi.


Delegate Kirk Cox (R-Colonial Heights) has been named to two newly established joint subcommittees of the House of Delegates: the Joint Subcommittees on the Future Competitiveness of Virginia Higher Education and the Virginia Preschool Initiative. The Future Competitiveness subcommittee will review ways to maintain and improve the quality of higher education, while providing for broad access and affordability. The Virginia Preschool Initiative will look for ways of increasing accountability, flexibility, innovation, clarification of the state’s role and policy relating to providing preschool for economically disadvantaged children. Cox recently retired from teaching after 30 years as a high school government teacher.

Individual achievements

Taminger Taminger Benjamin Taminger, a senior at Manchester High School, has been appointed to attend the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in New London, Conn. He is the son of David and Debbie Taminger of Midlothian. Taminger has been class president at Manchester for four years and is graduating second in the class with a 4.8 GPA. He was also recruited for the Coast Guard cross country and track team. Fewer than 350 students are appointed each year to the academy from more than 2,300 applicants.

Alexandria “Alex” Ritchie of North Chesterfield, a John Tyler Community College student, has been named a Rotary International Paul Harris Fellow in recognition of her community service. The fellowship, named for a co-founder of Rotary International, was established in 1957 to recognize substantial contributions to the organization’s humanitarian and educational programs.


Mark Battista, Chesterfield County naturalist, has received a Steward of the River award from the James River Advisory Council. The award recognizes people or groups who have made measurable positive impacts to the James River and surrounding communities. Battista was cited for his work on public programs to connect youths and adults with the river. He also mentors scouts and participates in outreach with the Richmond Audubon Society and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Announcements can be emailed to, faxed to 744-3269 or mailed to Chesterfield Observer, Attn: Announcements,  P.O. Box 1616, Midlothian, VA 23113.

Return to top