2017-02-01 / Announcements

St. Francis opens new center for irregular heart rhythms

Bon Secours Heart and Vascular Institute has opened a new Arrhythmia Center at St. Francis Medical Center to provide comprehensive services for all forms of abnormal heart rhythms.

An arrhythmia is an abnormal heart rhythm often discovered during routine exams. However, some patients report other symptoms such as sudden fluttering or pounding of the heart, lack of energy, dizziness, chest discomfort and shortness of breath. An estimated 3.4 million people in the United States have atrial fibrillation, the most common type of arrhythmia. People with atrial fibrillation are up to seven times more likely to have a stroke. Drs. Omar Shams and Harpreet Grewal, two of Richmond’s top cardiac electrophysiologists, lead the new Arrhythmia Center at St. Francis and at a second location at Memorial Regional Medical Center in Mechanicsville.

Haynes Haynes Both facilities are equipped with state-of-the art electrophysiology labs with advanced medical imaging and ultra-high-definition monitors that provide 3-D visualization of the heart. This sophisticated imaging makes it possible to create detailed maps of the heart to accurately assess where irregular heart rhythms originate and the best method to intervene.

For more information or to request a referral, call 418-2702 or visit


HCA Virginia has appointed Dr. Jake O’Shea to the newly created position of chief medical officer for Johnston-Willis Hospital. Prior to this role, O’Shea served as the chief medical information officer with HCA’s Capital Division where he oversaw all medical informatics activities. The chief medical officer provides leadership, direction and planning for a variety of medical and related activities for the hospital. This executive serves as the liaison and resource to management on matters pertaining to medical staff activities.


Bettie Weaver Elementary School’s third-grade classes raised more than $8,000 for families in Haiti to filter clean water. The money will provide bio-sand filters at a cost of $100 per family. Each family will receive a filter, instructions on how to use it and the ability to filter enough water for their own use. Students participated in bake sales and other various fundraising efforts to raise money. Several students set up their own personal sales at their homes or at local stores to raise money for the cause. In addition, students received pledges from friends and family for a walk-a-thon at the school, which included carrying gallons of water to demonstrate how others get their water daily in third-world countries.

Thirty county personal finance and economics teachers have received a W!SE Gold Star Teacher Award. To be considered for the award, a teacher must achieve a 93 percent pass rate in at least one of their classes on either the fall 2015 or spring 2016 W!SE Financial Literacy Certification Test. W!SE’s Financial Literacy Certification Program provides high school students with access to financial education and the opportunity to become certified as financially literate.

The following county teachers received W!SE awards: Bettina Hinckle (CCPS Online); Bryce Lyle (CCPS Online); Janice Skipwith (CCPS Online); Samantha Brunow (CCPS Online); Brice Harrington (Clover Hill High and CCPS Online); Karen Charney (Clover Hill High); Michael Bell (Clover Hill High); Celia Polin (Cosby High); Christopher Prior (Cosby High); Scott McKeag (Cosby High); Sebrell Bryant (Cosby High); Ashley Walker (James River High); Jeffrey Bourassa (James River High); Rose Malone (James River High); Anthony Perkins (Bird High); Jacob White (Bird High); Charlie Krausse (Manchester High); Mary Williams (Manchester High); Paul Kline (Manchester High); Evelyn Robinson (Matoaca High); Mary “Kathy” Price (Matoaca High); Daniel Porzio (Meadowbrook High); Bryan Harrison (Midlothian High); Madeleine Smith (Midlothian High); Steve Scherer (Midlothian High); Monica Van Arsdale (Monacan High); Debbie Kidd (Thomas Dale High); Kelly Davis (Thomas Dale High); Patrick Sweet (Thomas Dale High); and Tami Marshall (Thomas Dale High).

For the third consecutive year, Chesterfield County Public Schools’ budget document has been recognized with two national awards: the Meritorious Budget Award from the Association of School Business Officials International and the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from the Government Finance Officers Association.

The Meritorious Budget Award was awarded for excellence in the preparation and issuance of the school division’s fiscal year 2017 operating budget.

Conner Fish of Midlothian made the dean’s list for the fall semester at New River Community College.


Christa Donohue has been named the new chief executive officer of the Chesterfield/Colonial Heights Alliance for Social Ministry (commonly known as CCHASM). Donohue replaces Helen Hughes, who is retiring.


Midlothian resident and licensed clinical social worker Lisa M. Beitz has been appointed to the state’s Child Fatality Review Team by the governor.

Individual achievements

Andrew Haynes, a Midlothian native and Monacan High School graduate, recently received a Communication Arts Award from Communication Arts Magazine. Haynes, art director at national technology magazine Gear Patrol, credits some of his design talents to a class he took while a student at the Savannah College of Art and Design. He received the award in the Best Editorial Design category for his work with Gear Patrol.

Return to top